Compare the lowest auto insurance rates by state in minutes and save money. Easily view prices in all areas of the country for every type of vehicle and all driver ages. Which states have the cheapest prices and which ones will put the largest hole in your financial pockets? It takes less than a minute to find out. Comprehensive, collision, liability-only, GAP, non-owner, and uninsured policies are offered. Cheap state minimum options with small down-payments are also available, along with higher liability limits and all property and casualty riders. Senior, good-driver, and student discounts help lower premiums.
If you have a license (or are in the process of getting one), and need a car or truck to be insured, we quickly find the most affordable auto insurance options for 2023. Safe driver rates are as low as $25 per month while high-risk premiums may be cheaper than you realize. We not only shop for the best offers, but we provide affordable monthly payment options along with same-day coverage, if needed. Assistance with an SR-22 Bond or license reinstatement is just a click away. We can help you save time and money by customizing quotes to match your vehicles. Regardless if you live in Pennsylvania, Florida, Illinois, Texas, North Carolina, California, or any other state, we can help.
All large and small cities are researched by our website. We make viewing the average monthly rate easy. Simply provide your zip code in the box at the top of the page to get prices. Instantly, you can click on the companies that save you the most money. If you want to apply for a policy online, the process is quick and painless. Most carriers offer streamlined application options that allow you to apply, get covered, and print your ID cards and declarations page at the same time. The average cost of covering your vehicle may have recently reduced, depending upon availability of discounts. New safety devices have also helped reduce premiums.
We also review information from the National Association Of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) to assist us with providing the most recent data. Several of the risk factors utilized to determine rankings include the number of uninsured and underinsured drivers, type of weather and amount of snow, local laws, average age of residents, driving record, and types of vehicles. Occasionally, changes in legislation will impact the cost of coverage, especially if a state's no-fault status is impacted. Typically, changing from a no-fault state to a fault state will lower premiums. Michigan recently changed from no-fault to fault.
If you are over age 50, all carriers offer discounts, although the amount will vary. Our side-by-side comparisons will help you understand the best polices for Seniors, and which types of coverage result in the best offers. Typically, the older you are, the fewer miles you drive. And this can often result in more favorable premiums, especially if you drive fewer than 7,000 miles per year or park your vehicle in an enclosed garage. The successful completion of defensive-driving courses can also reduce the rate for teen and Senior drivers. Electronic devices can be installed that help low-mileage drivers reduce their premium. Self-driving cars are also eligible for discounts, although some restrictions may apply.
Least Expensive States
1. Ohio -- Typically, the Buckeye State offers some of the lowest health insurance rates, so why not automobiles? Despite slightly higher prices in Cleveland, Dayton, Cincinnati and parts of Columbus, the vast majority of the state features attractive prices, friendly underwriting, and flexible policies. Warren, Miami, and Greene Counties feature many of the best offers. Clermont, Hamilton, Darke, and additional counties around Franklin County are also parts of the state with the most competitive rates. Cuyahoga County pricing is always challenging, although we can generally find competitive offers. Akron, Canton, and Toledo will have a wide variance, depending on your zip code.
Despite all of the orange construction barrels that seem to always litter SR 75 in the Toledo and Dayton areas, the incidence of accidents in Ohio is lower than almost every other state. SR 71 and the outermost areas around Dayton and Columbus seem to move freely and quickly, even during rush hour. However, crossing the bridge from Cincinnati to Kentucky (and vice versa) during rush hour can be challenging. If its snowing, you may sit in traffic for 15-25 minutes. And of course, if the Bengals, Browns, Reds, or Ohio State's football team are playing at home, traffic may be temporarily delayed. The COVID virus, of course, eliminated much of that traffic.
Often, Buckeye State cities with some of the most competitive prices include smaller suburban areas of larger cities. Examples include Springboro, Kettering, Miamisburg, Oakwood, and Centerville (Dayton), Mason, Loveland, West Chester, Kings Island, and Sharonville (Cincinnati), and Dublin, Gahanna, and Westerville (Columbus). Shaker Heights and Beachwood, suburbs of Cleveland, also feature attractive rates. Several additional Buckeye State cities with the lowest rates include Avon Lake, Bowling Green, Fairborn, Findlay, Marysville, North Ridgeville, and Troy.
Carriers with the lowest rates in the Buckeye State are State Farm, Erie, Geico, Progressive, Allstate, Nationwide, USAA, Westfield, Farmers, and American Family. Smaller cities with extremely competitive rates include Alvada, Alvordton, Anna, Ballville, Blakeslee, Blufton, Cairo, Clyde, Edon, Forest, Fremont, Hamler, Kettlersville, Lewistown, McClure, Middleburg, New Knoxville, North Baltimore, Palestine, Port Clinton, Rossburg, Salem, Spencerville, Tiro, Vermilion, and West Unity.
2. New Hampshire -- The stereotypical NH driver is safe and slow. We realize you may get different opinions from other local residents, but the number of reported traffic accidents per driver in the state is fairly low. Also, since there is no large metropolitan area, the number of comprehensive claims is also quite small, which helps reduce premiums. Vehicle repair can be pricey, so it's important to obtain at least 2-3 estimates before fixing damage. Most insurers don't requite and adjuster to view the vehicle before you visit a dealership.
However, New Hampshire can be quite costly if you have multiple teen drivers in your household. The state has the highest average price increases (more than 100%) when you add a young driver to your policy. Hawaii and New York have the smallest average increases. As your teenager gains experience (especially after three years), premiums will substantially reduce. And of course, "good student" discounts can easily save hundreds of dollars each year. Winter weather driving is always a challenge with so many hills impacted by the snow and ice accumulations.
Oddly, New Hampshire does not have a mandatory car insurance law. Although you are held legally responsible for any physical damage or bodily injury you cause, many victims are not properly compensated. But perhaps just as odd is the fact that the percentage of state drivers that are without coverage is lower than the US average. NOTE: If you do purchase a policy, the minimum liability limits are $25,000 per person, $50,000 per occurrence, and an additional $25,000 of property damage. These limits are equal to or exceed most other state minimum requirements. Manchester, Nashua, Dover, Salem, Chesterfield, Littleton, and Troy offer very competitive pricing.
3. Maine -- Yes...Another Northeastern state. Maine has always maintained affordable car insurance rates compared to other regional and national areas. Also, juries in the state tend to reward smaller settlements. This feature, along with the quiet rural atmosphere with plenty of country roads keeps prices very low. The colder months can be challenging, but roads and highways tend to get plowed very quickly. 2019 was a VERY challenging Winter with more accidents and claims than most previous years, while 2020 claims reduced.
Residents of Maine pay less than 2% of their household income for coverage, which is also among the lowest in the nation. But oddly, their minimum required liability limits ($50,000 per person, $100,000 per accident, and $25,000 property damage) are not among the lowest required limits when compared to other states. But despite the higher requirements, the number of lawsuits (per resident) is still less than most other states. $2,000 of medical payments coverage is also required in the state along with mandatory uninsured motorist protection. NOTE: If you drive a pickup truck, be careful! Several of the most stolen vehicles are the GMC, Chevrolet and Ford full size pickups!
Maine requires all car insurance carriers to offer a discount to drivers age 55 and over who have completed an approved motor vehicle accident prevention course. Many approved locations and courses are offered throughout the state. The rate reduction is not available if any member of the household had a moving violation, license suspension or at-fault accident within the previous 36 months. The minimum required state liability requirements are $50,000/$100,000, and $25,000 (BI and PD).
4. North Carolina -- The Tar Heel state is a bit of a surprise, since with the exception of Virginia, other states in the area tend to have much higher prices. However, SDIP (Safe Driver Incentive Plan) is probably playing a role since it penalizes anybody that receives a moving violation or has an at-fault accident. After your pocketbook feels the impact, suddenly you aren't speeding or rolling through stop signs any more.
One single moving violation results in a whopping 30% rate increase! Wow! Perhaps that's why multiple-ticketed drivers are not common there. However, in fairness, drivers with clean records are rewarded with low pricing. And if a violation is reduced (in court) to only 10 miles over the speeding limit, no points are assessed and your premium is not impacted. The rule is a bit controversial, but is pushing rates lower. As more residents understand the rule, they seem happy that it has been passed. Raleigh and Charlotte, for example, feature very competitive rates for cities that size.
NC companies are required to notify the DMV if insurance has lapsed or has terminated. A liability termination letter is sent with 10 days given to respond. Fines are $50 for first lapse, $100 for second lapse, a $50 restoration fee, and $150 insurance lapse charge. The current minimum liability requirements are $30,000/$60,000/$25,000. Uninsured and underinsured motorists protection is also required.
5. Wisconsin -- Many of the largest companies feature some of their most competitive prices in Wisconsin. State Farm, Amica, USAA, Liberty Mutual and Nationwide are popular in the state, although numerous regional and smaller carriers often have the best deals. In fact, more than 200 companies offer coverage in the Badger State, which represents one of the highest totals in the US. Many are "specialty" carriers that offer limited and specific options, and others are smaller carriers that see potential profit by increasing their market share.
The minimum liability limits are standard ($25,000 per person and $50,000 per occurrence) although the uninsured and under-insured requirements are much higher ($100,000/$300,000). $10,000 of property damage is also required. The WAIP (Wisconsin Automobile Insurance Plan) is a high-risk program that offers fairly decent rates compared to other surrounding states such as Minnesota, Michigan and Iowa. However, multiple major violations (such as DUIs) will result in extremely high premiums. Once these violations are 36-60 months old, prices quickly tumble.
Wisconsin is a comparative negligence state, so responsibility of fault is often shared. Thus, if your percentage of negligence is less than the other party, damages may be recovered. If your percentage of negligence is greater than the other party, damages can not be recovered. The Safety Responsibility Law requires that any time someone is killed or hurt, or property damage exceeds $1,000, the accident must be quickly reported. Motorists are provided an incentive to avoid providing out-of-pocket compensation for damages from crashes. A driver can be suspended for 12 months until an uninsured driver complies with the legal requirements.
6. Virginia -- Residents of Richmond, Norfolk and Roanoke especially understand that Va rates are cheap. These three cities are among the best areas of the state for purchasing a policy. We're not sure if the college town atmosphere makes a difference, but all three cities house Virginia Universities. AARP "Smart Driver" classes are also offered locally, and are a great way to lower premiums. The lack of adverse weather conditions (most of the time!) may contribute to the lower incidence of accidents.
The average commuting time to work is almost 30 minutes, which does not translate into better prices. But the combination of experienced drivers and a competitive vehicle repair business helps. Surprisingly, the state law allows you to drive without coverage if you pay a $500 UMV (Uninsured Motor Vehicle) fee. Of course, operating a vehicle without liability insurance is a very unwise decision. If you cause physical or bodily injury, it may take years to financially recover, including possible bankruptcy filings.
Virginia has a $500 UMV (Uninsured Motor Vehicle) fee which does not provide insurance coverage, but instead allows drivers to operate a vehicle at their own risk. If involved in an accident, the other party may notify the DMV if you are uninsured. When your registration expires, the payment must be paid at the renewal. Mandatory coverage is electronically verified by the DMV, and like most states, severe penalties are imposed upon person driving without the required coverage.
7. Idaho -- Boise is one of the cheapest cities in Idaho to insure your vehicle. There are many open highways, and drivers are typically not aggressive. And because auto thefts are so infrequent in this Northwestern state (third lowest in the US), overall prices are quite low. With the exception of the 2006 Ford Pickup truck, most of the stolen vehicles are at least 20 years old, which is quite different than many other states, such as New York, California, and New Jersey.
Although prices are good in the Potato state (actually they're officially the "Gem" state), the drivers were recently voted "the rudest" of any state in the US. The results were published in a nationwide survey by a leading auto website. Maybe it pays to be obnoxious! Our writers have never encountered any behavioral problems, so perhaps it's a new phenomenon. However, the deer running out onto the highways are certainly acting obnoxiously. Note: The state's minimum liability requirements are $25,000 per person, $50,000 per injury, and $15,000 of property damage.
One of the factors that could have a huge impact in Idaho is the future of driverless cars. There has been discussion about allowing companies to test self-driving vehicles in the state on major roads. At issue is whether live persons should retain control during the testing phase, in case an emergency arises. Within 5-10 years, driverless vehicles will no longer be tested, but rather become a reality. NOTE: several of the Idaho cities with the lowest average premiums include Boise, Meridian, Pocatello, and Twin Falls.
8. Utah -- Utah is considered a "no-fault" state. Thus, if you have an accident, you pay for your damages and the other driver pays for theirs. At least (Up to) $3,000 must be paid by your own company. If your injuries and damages are less than $3,000, you can't sue. Insure-Rite is a private service that helps monitor insurance compliance and also notifies the state if your policy lapses. Since a fine and/or license suspension is possible, naturally, you don't want your policy to lapse.
Roads, with the exception of major cities, such as Salt Lake City and Provo, are fairly spread out. This helps keep the incidence of accidents down, and thus, the amount you pay for your car insurance. The top five writers of private passenger coverage in Utah are State Farm, Mid Century, Allstate, Bear River and American Family. Typically, the Beehive State has kept its pricing fairly stable over the last five years. Several cities that offer extremely competitive rates include West Valley City, Sandy Hills, Orem, Ogden, and Layton.
Carriers that have the best complaint ratios (reported by the Utah DOI) are Bear River Mutual, Farmers, Allstate, Geico, State Farm, Progressive, and Auto-Owners. The state minimum liability insurance requirements are $25,000 per person, $65,000 per accident, and $15,000 of property damage (per accident. $3,000 pf PIP (Personal Injury Protection) is also required.
9. Indiana -- The Hoosier State is better known for basketball and beautiful Indianapolis, but not necessarily the cheapest Indiana auto insurance rates. But yes, they made the Top-10. It could be because of so many cornfields, open highways and back roads across the state. Or maybe, Midwestern drivers are a bit more careful than we give them credit for. You just need to watch out for the tractors on portions of I-70, along with the blowing snow you frequently see in December and February.
Anybody in the state that has been declined for coverage can apply through the Indiana Automobile Insurance Plan (AIP). The program was created in 1948 and all licensed carriers participate. Enrollment through specific companies is based upon the volume of business that company writes. For instance, if they have 15% of the Indiana market share, they will be able to issue approximately 15% of the AIP business. NOTE: Indianapolis car insurance prices are among the lowest of all major Midwestern cities. Fort Wayne, Kokomo, South Bend, and Evansville also offer competitive rates.
The Hoosier State's minimum liability requirements are $25,000 per person, $50,000 per accident, and $25,000 of property damage. Request for verification of financial responsibility is required for traffic violations, filed auto accidents, and major moving violations including license suspensions. A "Certificate Of Compliance" can be provided by the carrier. Uninsured and underinsured motorists protection is required, unless specifically requested by the owner of the vehicle.
10. Vermont -- This is a bit of a surprise considering that Vermont is one of the few states that does not require residents to file proof of insurance with the Department of Motor Vehicles. The assumption, of course, is that more drivers are without coverage, resulting in more accidents and claims. Apparently, this is not true. Perhaps one of the biggest risks on the road is avoiding moose. The Vermont Fish and Wildlife Department constantly reminds residents to beware of moose crossing highways, especially at night.
Vermont leads the US in insurance regulation (according to "R Street"), which could also help explain the competitive price structure. Some of the strongest areas of the state include protecting consumers, clarity of policy prices, fighting fraud, and regulatory restriction. NOTE: Burlington, Colchester, and Rutland (three of the largest cities in the state) typically feature attractive prices. Also, drivers on interstate highways tend to obey the speed limit more than drivers in nearby states.
Minimum liability requirements are $25,000 per person, $50,000 for two or more persons injured or killed, and $10,000 of property damage. The $10,000 is limit is very low and will likely be increased within the next five years. Self-insurance of $115,000 may also be utilized in lieu of standard coverage. A $500 fine may be imposed for non-compliance. Lack of proof of financial responsibility can also result in a $500 civil fine.
11. Hawaii -- The highways are scenic in Hawaii, but drivers do a good job of keeping their eyes on the road. The number of accidents and incidents is low compared to most other states. Geico, State Farm, and Allstate generally offer low rates on most of the Islands, although Liberty Mutual should also be considered. Hawaii is a no-fault state with minimum required liability limits of $20,000/$40,000/$10,000, and $10,000 of PIP. Several of the cities with the lowest rates include Lahaina, Waimalu, Wailuku, Makakilo, and Nanakuli.
Hawaii is a "no-fault" state, so the carrier is responsible for paying driver and passenger injury expenses up to the PIP limit. Unless there are major injuries, a lawsuit can not be filed. The minimum required PIP protection limit is $10,000. $20,000 of uninsured and underinsured motorist protection may be purchased, although it is not required. Funeral benefits coverage is also offered.
The insurers that offer the most competitive rates (clean risk or one speeding conviction) are Bankers Standard, Federal Insurance, Metropolitan Property And Casualty, Travelers, USAA, First Security, Geico Indemnity, Hartford, Island Premier, Liberty Mutual, Pacific Indemnity, Progressive, Garrison Property And Casualty, IDS, and State Farm.
12. Washington -- PEMCO, Geico, and American family typically feature attractive prices in most counties. Divers that have been denied coverage can apply through the State Automobile Insurance Plan. For drivers with multiple tickets and at-fault accidents, often Mutual Of Enumclaw, Progressive, and Liberty Mutual offer attractive pricing. Evergreen State drivers are fined $450 for failing to maintain the required minimum liability limits.
The state can issue a fine as much as $550 if you drive without required coverage. The four accepted options are standard car insurance, a liability bond, certificate of deposit, and self insurance. The insurance requirements are $25,000 per person, $50,000 per accident, and $10,000 of injury to or destruction of property. Your ID card is required to be available when driving.
Companies that offer low rates to most drivers include Progressive, State Farm, Mutual Of Enumclaw, Geico, Farmers, Allstate, and American Family. Carriers with the lowest complaint ratios are Liberty Mutual, PEMCO, Mutual Of Enumclaw, Hartford, USAA, Progressive, and Travelers.
Most Expensive States
1. Michigan -- Michigan's high rates are not helped by Detroit. Although many large cities experience higher numbers of accidents and claims, Detroit has one of the highest theft rates in the US. But Michigan is no longer a "no-fault" state with guaranteed lifetime benefits from PIP claims, so rates are reducing. Add fast drivers and Interstate 75 running down the middle of the state, you have a recipe for high prices. Mix in nasty weather conditions in the Winter and things can get dicey very fast.
This legal oddity (no-fault) was a price-killer for conscientious drivers who had to pay for so many accidents and lawsuits. And one out of every five drivers is without coverage, which also helps inflate rates. Also, expect delays on the highways immediately following home Tigers, Red Wings and Lions games, especially if they lose. However, many outlying areas of cities such as Flint and Detroit, enjoy fairly affordable rates. Smaller cities, including Livonia, Farmington Hills, Lake Orion, and Muskegon also have below-average rates.
The new Michigan law is also a major reason why many non-drivers are purchasing coverage for vehicles they do not own. Previously, the total amount of medical bills were not capped under standard policies. Non-motorist policies cost about $300-$500 per year and will help cover medical bills. An "Assigned Claims Plan,' which is a public fund, will pay medical bills for persons without coverage. The maximum payout is also capped at $250,000. Carriers are mandated to reduce the cost of PIP coverage for eight years. Credit scores and zip codes can not be utilized to determine rates, and premiums must be pre-approved before offered to drivers.
2. Georgia -- Atlanta is certainly partly to blame with typical big-city high premiums and a highway system that features too many accidents. Also, the number of vehicle owners without coverage, or not high enough liability limits, has helped force prices higher. The Georgia Department of Motor Vehicles is constantly working overtime to push rates down. Although many suburb rates are reducing, such as Buford, Dunwoody, Roswell, Marietta, and Sandy Springs, urban areas are still experiencing high prices. Examples of these zip codes include 30310, 30314, 30308, 30307, 30312, and 30306.
And like many states, weather can be a bit tricky at times. Although it doesn't snow much, there are other weather concerns. Whether it's hail, heavy rain, or high winds (or all three!) highway conditions seem to quickly deteriorate without drivers slowing down. With a NASCAR race and a Monster Energy Supercross event every year in Atlanta, maybe fans start to drive like their favorite heroes on their way home. And if the Falcons, Braves, and Hawks start winning more games, there will be more traffic! Of course, we don't see a developing trend yet.
Currently, companies that offer the most competitive rates include Geico, Progressive, State Farm, Donegal, Auto-Owners, Nationwide, and Encompass. For Senior drivers, Country Financial, Esurance, and Alfa offer attractive options.
3. West Virginia -- Once again, an unusually high number of drivers without coverage or inadequate liability limits hurts prices in the state, although Charleston and Wheeling prices are fairly low. And prices have been stabilizing the last several years. The UM charges for each policy are among the highest in the US. Also, the number of incidents with animals is very high. Deer collisions occur at alarming numbers, and often repair costs are substantial. We're not aware of any other animals that are crossing highways in significant numbers, but dusk and dawn are the most popular times for deer collisions.
The hilly terrain (in some areas) increases risk, especially when deer seem to be everywhere late in the year. And finally, comprehensive claims are high ( many glass breakage claims are submitted) compared to other similar-sized states. Unless some of these trends reverse themselves, West Virginia may take over the second spot from Georgia. Also, the state's minimum required property damage limit is only $10,000, which would not pay for the replacement of 99% of all new vehicles. We expect this low limit to double within the next five years. NOTE: There are many areas where prices are low, such as Stonewood, Inwood, Bakerton, Paden City, Eleanor, Martinsburg, Harrisville, Romney, Bunker Hill, Ranson, and Winfield. State Farm, Westfield, and Geico typically offer very competitive rates.
4. Louisiana -- Actually, there's good news. Last year, Louisiana was ranked as the second most expensive state, so they are moving in the right direction! A combination of natural weather-related disasters and roads that badly need maintenance are two of the principal reasons for the high rates. Liability awards are common and sometimes exorbitant (especially in the New Orleans area), which places added pressure on companies trying to keep rates competitive. And Baton Rouge is also one of the most expensive cities in the US to insure your vehicle (about as expensive as Detroit).
The LA state minimum liability requirements are fairly low at $15,000 per person, $30,000 per accident and $25,000 for property damage. As a result, there are more "underinsured" liability claims than many other states with higher required limits (such as $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident). Inexpensive rates can be found in many areas, including Shreveport, Lafayette, St. Charles, Kenner, Monroe, Houma, New Iberia, and Slidell.
5. California -- At about $2,000 per year in average premiums, California continues to pay high auto insurance rates. If you include homeowner's premiums in any comparison, the Golden State usually will have the highest combination of auto and home costs in the US. Of course, the potential of a major earthquake and higher home replacement costs also have a slight effect. And litigation expenses are also more expensive than most other states. Note: Northern California prices are lower than most areas of the state for many property and casualty products.
There are a lot of vehicles on the road since California is one of the most populous states. And, of course, highways can become quite congested, which leads to a high incidence of accidents. Interstate 405, for example, in the southern part of the state, always has a delay, an accident, construction, or a weather/traffic-related incident to slow you down. And we don't see this trend changing in the future since more (not less) vehicles are appearing on the road. However, like most states, there are many large and small cities that feature fairly low pricing. A few examples are Fresno, Sacramento, Stockton, Modesto, Huntington Beach, Salinas, Rialto, and Merced.
Regardless of which state you live in, there are usually low-cost car insurance rates available from several major companies. We find those companies for you, and make it easy to save money! Whether you're comparing offers from different states or different cities, we'll show you the best prices from all companies. If you are contemplating moving to a different city or state, our online free quotes will help you find the best offers.
Most of our research focuses on standard and preferred risks, and we understand that obtaining reasonably-cost coverage after a DUI or other major moving violation can be quite challenging. High-risk insurance is expensive, but many companies offer policies that gradually reduce your premium. Although an SR-22 Bond filing and a mandatory 30-day or 90-day license suspension may complicate your life for a short period of time, affordable options will eventually become available. Many companies allow a high-risk driver to be separated from other family members on their policy. However, many discounts may not be offered to all drivers.
Google has created a car insurance rating platform, although currently, only California is available, and not all major carriers participate. Titan and 21st Century are currently used in the quote engine, which attempts to offer easy differentiation of companies. However, many discounts are missing and the online enrollment process is still not secure. We feel by 2017, this platform may become a viable option, but not sooner.
Texting while operating a motor vehicle is illegal for all drivers, with the exception of four states -- Texas, Montana, Arizona, and Missouri. All other states can issue citations if initially observed, or observed after a traffic stop for another reason.
Montana has no law against texting while driving although school bus drivers in Arizona can not use cell phones at all. In Missouri, if you're over 21, you can text, and in Texas, you must be 18 or older, but not a school bus driver. Fines typically range from $20 to $200. In Alaska, it can cost as much as $10,000 and jail time!