Find the cheapest Oklahoma car insurance rates by instantly comparing free quotes from the top companies. Easily shop for affordable liability or full coverage that will save you money each time you pay your premium. If you don't have coverage now, or your policy recently lapsed, you can view policies that will quickly insure you with the lowest possible down payment. Policies can be purchased online, and ID cards and declarations can be downloaded or printed.
Choose customized quotes that show you the most cost-effective deductibles and liability limits. Regardless if you own a single vehicle, or multiple cars and trucks, we handle the shopping so you get quality coverage at the cheapest rate. Sooner high-risk, standard, and preferred policies can be instantly compared by providing your zip code in our secure quote box at the top of the page. Special Senior and teenager discounts are also offered along with multi-policy, good-credit, alarm system, and many other reductions.
Oklahoma Minimum Liability Requirements
The state law requires that all vehicle owners have liability coverage. The minimum allowed limits are $25,000 per person, $50,000 per accident, and a separate $25,000 of property damage. Although uninsured motorists (UM) protection is not a legal requirement, insurers must offer this benefit, which can be accepted or rejected. UM will help you if you are hit by a hit-an-run driver, or by someone who was insured, but did not have enough coverage to pay for your entire claim. NOTE: You must have collision coverage for physical damage to be paid for damage to your car or truck.
Typically, your UM benefits match your bodily injury limits. Higher limits of $50,000/$100,000 or $100,000/$300,000 do not substantially increase your premium. In addition to paying your damages, other family members and occupants of the vehicle would also be covered. An excess-liability umbrella rider should also be considered in households with substantial assets. Amounts of $500,000, $1 million, and $2 million are the most popular options.
If you own your vehicle (outright), you are not obligated to purchase collision (physical damage) or comprehensive (fire, theft, vandalism, etc...) coverage. However, if you lease or finance, undoubtedly, you will be required to protect the lien holder by including these benefits. Although various deductibles are available, there may be a maximum deductible that you can choose. Other persons that drive your vehicle are covered under the provisions of your policy.
Feel free to contact us to review the most cost-effective options. Most lease companies require minimum liability limits of $100,000 per person, $300,000 per occurrence, and $50,000 of property damage. GAP benefits (mentioned below) are recommended. Maximum deductible options are typically between $500 and $1,500. With special permission, a $2,500 deductible may be offered.
Additional benefits that can be added are listed below:
Medical Payments -- Covers yourself and passengers up to stated limit. Your personal healthcare coverage through an employer or privately purchased does not impact this benefit.Coverage is generally between $1,000 and $25,000 per person.
Uninsured Motorist -- Provides protection against other vehicles that have no coverage. Approximately 1.3 million persons in the state are uninsured, which represents approximately 13% of all licensed drivers. Many additional uncovered drivers visit Oklahoma from nearby states.
Underinsured Motorist -- Provides protection against other vehicles that don't have enough coverage. And there are many minimum-limit policies issued each year, so this option is important to have. Also, with the cost of litigation, healthcare, and vehicle repair increasing, it becomes more likely you may need this option.
Electronic Devices -- Designed to cover specific items not normally covered on the basic policy. $500 of coverage is generally very inexpensive. Although your homeowner's insurance may cover selected items (possibly with a scheduled rider), a deductible may apply. Items attached to the vehicle and installed by the manufacturer may be treated differently.
GAP -- Pays you the difference of the value of vehicle and outstanding loan (assuming total loss). If you are financing a vehicle with no down-payment, this benefit should be considered for the first three years of a typical five-year loan. Once the value of the vehicle exceeds the loan amount, your collision and comprehensive benefits are adequate. Your policy should be checked to see if a termination fee will be charged. Note: Recently, used car prices increased, which has raised the cost of GAP (Guaranteed Asset Protection) coverage.
Towing -- In case your vehicle can not be driven or needs a jump-start. Of course, AAA and sometimes selected credit cards will provide similar benefits. Many car manufactures, (Honda for example) include emergency road service on newly-purchased or leased vehicles. However, after the warranty ends, you may lose your towing benefits. It is possible that your credit card may include limited towing and labor benefits. Locksmith service, flat tire changes, and jump starts are common benefits.
Rental Reimbursement -- As a result of an accident or covered claim, substitute transportation can be provided. Often, the limit per-day is between $15 and $30, subject to a 30-45 day maximum. Typically, these amounts will allow you to select a small SUV without any out-of-pocket expenses. Larger luxury vehicles may cost more than the amount you are allotted. However, a valet service may be offered by the dealership, that allows an employee to pick up and deliver your vehicle to your home or business.
Proof Of Coverage
Like most states, you are required to meet the minimum liability limits, (see above) and when requested, show proof that you have complied with the law. Your insurer will issue an ID card that you should carry at all times while driving. Making a duplicate copy is highly recommended. One copy should be placed in the glove compartment of the vehicle with the other copy kept at your home. When new ID cards are issued, older cards should be thrown away. Maintaining a copy on your portable device is also a popular option.
The most common items that must be clearly shown are name and address of company, your name, and make, model, year, and VIN of the vehicle you are operating. Policy issue and anniversary dates should also be shown. Personal financial information never appears on the ID card. Duplicate cards, if needed, can be easily ordered.
Your "Declarations Page" should always be kept at home. Since it contains specific personal and financial information, it should not be kept inside the vehicle. For example, if you have a lien, the name of the bank or finance company will be shown along with their address and your account number. Specific coverage, including policy deductibles and liability limits will also be listed, along with the current premium for the policy period. However, this form is not required to be shown during a traffic stop. Typically, if you own more than one vehicle, a single form will list all vehicles.
Agent contact details are also typically listed on the Declarations Page, along with a list of discounts that each vehicle is receiving. Amendments and endorsements can be found near the bottom of the page or on a separate page. If the vehicle is financed or leased, the financial institution will be listed by name with a current address and lease or loan account number.
Which Carriers Have The Best Rates?
Depending on where you live, the vehicle you drive, and your age, prices can greatly vary in each zip code and county. For example, while Shelter may offer low prices for Norman and Stillwater, they may be fairly expensive in Tulsa and Lawton. However, the companies listed below often offer the most competitive rates for both preferred and non-standard situations. Extreme high-risk situations (DUI, DWI, license suspension, etc...) may require alternative coverage, an SR-22 Bond filing, or both).
American National Property & Casualty
High-Risk Oklahoma Auto Insurance
Not everyone has a perfect driving record. For persons that have major violations (DUI, DWI, Hit And Run, Drag Racing etc...) on their MVR report, obtaining affordable coverage is often impossible. And many times, you can not find a company that will offer a policy (even state minimum limits) at any price. In these situations, there is a solution.
The Personal Automobile Insurance Procedure (PAIP) services high-risk car insurance assignment and replaced the direct assignment of private passenger applications. Each company will pay a yearly assessment, based upon their market share of private passenger written premiums. Smaller carriers will have a lower exposure and obligation. Companies are required to disclose their operating results.
After 6-12 months of clean driving (no tickets or at-fault accidents), it is possible to obtain much lower rates from many top-rated carriers. However, if an SR-22 Bond was required, it may have to remain in effect for up to three years. Also, recent license suspensions or revocations may increase the time needed to obtain preferred rates. The cheapest liability insurance rates may not be available until your driving record improves. The surcharge will vary, depending on the number of moving violations and at-fault accidents on your MVR. Multiple major violations will result in the biggest surcharges.
Forms are available online. The most common forms are commercial application, commercial application garage supplement, commercial operator schedule, physical damage inspection, private passenger application, private passenger change request, and uninsured motorists coverage supplement.
Important Note: If you are involved in an accident that is not your fault, your present carrier can not increase your premium, terminate your policy, or apply points. Section 941 of the Insurance Code prohibits this practice. If you are struck by another vehicle, it is always advisable to immediately contact the police, so a written report can be filed. If your policy is surcharged, present a copy of the police report to the carrier underwriter. If the report clearly indicates the other driver was faulty, the surcharge will be removed.
How Are Prices Determined?
Of course, not every person pays the same rate. As previously discussed, your driving record impacts your premium. However, there are several other components that impact how much you ultimately pay for your policy. The most common factors are listed below: NOTE: The Oklahoma Department of Insurance must approve (or partially approve) all rate increase requests.
Age -- Ages 16-18 pay the most, while generally, ages 50-65 pay the least. The "sweet spot" is between the ages of 40 and 50. The next lowest tier of prices is between 35 and 40, and 50 and 55.
Sex -- Male drivers pay more at younger ages. After age 25, typically, there is no difference. Males under the age of 19 are in the highest rated-tier. Males that have less than one year of driving experience, represent the most expensive segment.
Marital Status -- Persons under age 25 that are married pay less than single persons. However, after age 25, there is no difference with most major carriers. Also, many companies are offering bigger discounts when you reach age 19, rather than age 21. This assumes you obtained a license at age 16.
Residence -- The city, county, zip code (or a combination of all three) often impacts the cost of coverage. Typically, rural areas have lower rates than urban areas. It's not unusual for a single county to have multiple rate tiers.
Vehicle -- Naturally, newer cars and trucks will cost more, although older expensive vehicles are sometimes more expensive. You can always get an estimate in advance, if you are contemplating purchasing, and would like to compare several different models. The VIN may be needed to provide the exact rate.
Credit -- Excellent credit can never hurt you (sometimes it helps pricing). Bad credit may or may not impact what you pay. It depends on the carrier. Of course, a bankruptcy that was filed within the last 12 months, will exclude you from any "good-credit" discounts.
Can I Order A Copy Of My Driving Record?
Yes, you can. A "Records Request And Consent To Release Form" needs to be completed and sent to the Department of Public Safety in Oklahoma City. Some of the information you will need to provide is your name, driver's license number, and date of birth. A signature of consent is required along with a $25 fee. You can view the actual form here. If you notice any errors, they should immediately be reported to the DMV. Corrections typically take less than two weeks to complete.
Which Vehicles Are Most Likely To Be Stolen?
Of course, locking your vehicle at all times, installing an alarm system, and parking in a well-lit or enclosed area at night, will eliminate more than 50% of thefts. However, we understand that those steps are not always possible. Listed below are the make and model years of the "hottest" vehicles in the state. Interestingly, 6 of the 10 vehicles are pick-ups.
2004 Chevrolet Pickup
2006 Ford Pickup
1994 Chevrolet Pickup
1996 Honda Accord
2001 Dodge Pickup
1998 Honda Civic
1994 GMC Pickup
2004 Chevrolet Impala
2001 Ford Mustang
1994 Ford Pickup
Which Oklahoma Cities Are The Most Expensive To Insure A Car?
Once again, there are a lot of variables, and prices frequently change. However, presented below are 20 of the cities with higher-than-average premiums:
Note: Several cities with low Oklahoma auto insurance rates include Lawton, Norman, Edmond, Moore, Enid, Muskogee, Stillwater, Ponca City, Altus, and El Reno.
Dangerous State To Drive In
Oklahoma currently ranks as the eighth-most dangerous state for driving. More than 20% of all highway (and other roadways) deaths occur when the driver is speeding. And almost one out of four of those deaths involve a driver with a blood-alcohol level above the maximum-allowed level. Most accidents involve passenger cars and light trucks. The seven states that are considered more dangerous to drive are Alaska, Kentucky, West Virginia, Arizona, Louisiana, Mississippi, and South Carolina.
Estimated Sample Rates
Several scenarios are shown below. Posted rates are six-month premiums for a 2018 Chevrolet Malibu LS 4D with $25,000/$50,0000/$25,000 liability limits and $500 collision and comprehensive deductibles. No tickets or at-fault accidents in three years and driving approximately 12,000 miles per year. Good-driver discounts have not been included.
36-year-old married male residing in Oklahoma City
$265 -- Geico
$473 -- Safeco
$512 -- USAA
$540 -- USAA Casualty
$625 -- USAA General Indemnity
$648 -- Allstate
$652 -- Garrison Property And Casualty
$669 -- Shelter Mutual
$727 -- State Farm Mutual
$843 -- Oklahoma Farm Bureau
36-year-old married female residing in Oklahoma City
$265 -- Geico
$443 -- Safeco
$512 -- USAA
$539 -- USAA Casualty
$616 -- USAA General Indemnity
$644 -- Garrison Property And Casualty
$648 -- Allstate
$669 -- Shelter Mutual
$727 -- State Farm Mutual
$843 -- Oklahoma Farm Bureau
70-year-old married female residing in Oklahoma City
$333 -- Geico Casualty
$338 -- Safeco
$355 -- USAA
$501 -- Oklahoma Fam Bureau
$575 -- CSAA General
$637 -- Standard Fire
$641 -- Shelter Mutual
36-year-old married male residing in Tulsa
$295 -- Geico Casualty
$354 -- USAA
$395 -- Safeco
$547 -- Allstate Fire And Casualty
$638 -- State Farm Mutual
$766 -- Progressive Northern
$810 -- CSAA General
55-year-old married female residing in Tulsa
$266 -- Geico Casualty
$329 -- Safeco
$341 -- USAA
$521 -- CSAA General
$545 -- Allstate Fire And Casualty
$543 -- Oklahoma Farm Bureau
$603 -- Standard Fire And Casualty
55-year-old married female residing in Lawton
$111 -- Geico Casualty
$151 -- Safeco
$153 -- USAA
$217 -- CSAA General
$234 -- Allstate Fire And Casualty
$236 -- State Farm Mutual
$259 -- Progressive Northern
55-year-old married male residing in McAlester
$156 -- Geico Casualty
$167 -- USAA
$182 -- Safeco
$209 -- State Farm Mutual
$250 -- Progressive Northern
$253 -- Allstate Fire And Casualty
$315 -- Standard Fire And Casualty
55-year-old married male residing in Woodward
$122 -- Geico
$154 -- USAA
$165 -- Safeco
$236 -- Allstate Fire And Casualty
$236 -- State Farm
$239 -- Progressive Northern
$288 -- Shelter Mutual
Be careful because it's deer season. Actually, we're not referring to hunting, but rather the beginning of the time of the year when you are most likely to hit a deer on Oklahoma highways. Colder temperatures generally coincide with the start of the mating season, and more aggressive deer behavior. If you're not being extra cautious with keeping your eyes on the road, a serious accident could unexpectedly result.
More than 300 accidents involving animals were filed last year, resulting in two deaths and hundreds of injuries. Nationally, more than one million accidents are filed, causing a staggering $1 billion in damage. The most likely time to hit a deer is early in the morning and early in the evening. If you see a deer on the side of the road (especially around dusk or dawn), slow down and prepare for unpredictable deer behavior.