Find the lowest auto insurance rates in Texas. Get fast free quotes and save up to 40% on TX liability and full coverage policies. We shop and find the cheapest prices from the top companies so you can save money. Whether you are driving without coverage, and your prior TX policy lapsed, or you just want to lower your premium, we can help. The least expensive options are just a click away. Full coverage and basic liability options are available.
Getting your free quote and comparing multiple Texas carriers is quick, painless, and a little fun! Since we may be able to reduce your premium (and perhaps also increase your coverage), you'll spend less for your policy. By providing your zip code at the top of the page, you can instantly view your best options. Of course, there is no obligation or cost, and personal and financial information is not collected. Longhorn State premiums can greatly vary, depending on the city where you live. Leased and financed vehicles will require full coverage.
Finding affordable coverage for Seniors, teenagers, uninsured persons, and all other drivers is our specialty. Learn how to stay protected on the road at the least possible cost. Lone Star State premiums are less expensive than you may realize, since the number of reported accidents has decreased in recent years. Your savings will vary, depending on your driving record, and the type of vehicle you own or lease. If you're on a tight budget, we will find affordable policies. Coverage is also available if you drive in Mexico or other US states.
The law stipulates that you must pay all damages caused by an accident that is your fault. Naturally, the easiest and most popular option is to purchase a car insurance policy through a highly-rated company. This proof of financial responsibility can protect against other drivers suing you, as well as damages to your own vehicle. You can choose coverage limits that fit within your budget, and also change them at the anniversary renewal of your policy. All vehicles on the same policy must carry the same limits. Leased vehicles generally require higher limits, such as $100,000 per person, and $300,000 per accident, with collision and comprehensive coverage also required.
The lowest allowed limits are $30,000 for each injured person, $60,000 per accident, and a separate $25,000 for property damage (30/60/25). These limits are commonly referred to as your "bodily injury and property damage" limits. Coverage extends to other family members and other persons driving your vehicle with your permission. Passenger medical bills and additional expenses are covered. Most policies do not cover accidents that occur when the vehicle is not owned by the driver, and when the driver is operating the vehicle while delivering food or other objects for a fee.
Common covered expenses are medical bills, lost wages, pain and suffering, damages to vehicles, and any court-awarded punitive damages. However, higher levels should always be considered when you review your policy. The next level of $50,000/$100,000/$50,000 would not necessarily substantially raise your premium. $100,000/$300,000/$50,000 is the next level to consider and is often the baseline coverage of personal umbrella riders.
Typically, the increase is less than $50 per year. $100,000/$300,000/$50,000 is a very common level of benefits, and the required minimum for personal umbrella rider coverage. Leased vehicles will require higher liability limits along with collision and comprehensive coverage. Gap protection is recommended if there is a small or no down-payment. This benefit will provide accident compensation for the difference between the actual cash value and outstanding loan or lease balance of the vehicle. Potentially, the savings can be thousands of dollars.
Once your policy has been issued, the carrier will provide an ID-card that verifies that you have satisfied the TX requirements. This proof-of-insurance card should be kept in your vehicle, with a duplicate copy also at your home residence. A "Consumer Bill Of Rights" will also be provided to you. In many situations, you will be required to furnish the card. Common examples are if you are involved in an accident, renew a vehicle registration, purchase a vehicle, have your car inspected, or a request from a police officer.
Policies typically pay for vehicle repair, medical and funeral bills, lost wages, and compensation for pain and suffering from an accident, attorney's fees if you are sued, damage caused by fire, vandalism, flood, hail, and falling objects (comprehensive), damage caused by hitting an animal, and damage you cause while driving a substitute vehicle. Items not typically covered include damages while delivering for a fee or driving for Lyft or Uber, intentional damages, or damages that occur while racing, and accidents that occur in Mexico. Equipment tot permanently installed on your car or truck is also not covered.
For new vehicles that are just purchased, generally an auto insurance policy will provide benefits for approximately 20 days. A replacement vehicle will be provided the same coverage contained in the policy. An additional vehicle will receive the benefits that match the vehicle with the most policy coverage. Generally, your coverage extends to a rental vehicle, although collision waivers will be offered. When borrowing a vehicle, the owner's policy covering the borrowed vehicle will pay damages.
When driving a rental vehicle, liability and physical damage waivers are typically offered. Although the damage waiver is sometimes worth considering, generally, liability benefits are not needed. A non-owner liability policy can be purchased if you don't own a vehicle. When borrowing a vehicle, damages resulting from an accident are paid by the owner's carrier. When renting a vehicle while your own car or truck is being repaired, your personal policy extends coverage.
To help with compliance and enforcement of the mandatory coverage law, every week, carriers are required to submit a report to the TexasSure vehicle ID verification system, and provide the identification of all vehicles actively listed on in-force policies. The purpose the program was created, was to reduce the number of cars and trucks that are operating without required coverage. Since the program began in 2008, the percentage of uninsured vehicles has reduced from approximately 20% to 14%. Other entities that help with operations, include the Texas Departments of Motor Vehicles, Insurance, Information Resources, and Public Safety. A $1 charge that is included in registration fees help pay for program expenses.
There are also many optional benefits that should always be considered. They include:
Personal Injury Protection (PIP) -- First party medical payments coverage (see below) with an extra payment of up to 80% of caregiver expenses and unrecoverable income and wages. PIP benefits are awarded regardless which party was at fault. $2,500 is the smallest amount that will be offered. You can accept or reject this coverage. However, if rejected, the request must be written, since you will be unprotected.
Benefits include reasonable medical expenses included required surgeries, dental and eye treatment, professional nursing, prosthetics, funeral expenses, ambulance charges, funeral services, and lost income.
Medical Payments -- Passengers and other family members in the vehicle are covered for medical and funeral expenses regardless of who caused the accident. Although they may already have private or employer-provided healthcare benefits, they can still be reimbursed. Eligibility for Marketplace plans and/or federal subsidies does not impact your medical payments coverage. Also, Medicare or Medicaid eligibility does not impact benefits or the cost of excess coverage.
Uninsured and Underinsured Motorists -- Commonly referred to as "UM" and "UIM," if the negligent party in the accident either did not have enough coverage or was uninsured, these two options will help you recover money that ordinarily would not be available. A $250 deductible applies and you are not required to purchase either benefit. However, you must be offered this coverage. The property damage coverage can pay for damaged items in your vehicle, repairs (including parts and labor), and substitute transportation.
Rental Reimbursement And Towing -- If you need a substitute vehicle for any extended period of time or require your disabled vehicle to be towed, you know it can be expensive. Many policies automatically include these options. Also, AAA and several credit cards may also cover some of the expenses. However, there may be a cap on the number of days (30-45) or the reimbursement per day ($15-$40). Services for Uber and other ride services is also covered by several carriers.
Collision -- Generally required if you are financing or leasing your vehicle. Since it covers physical damage, you should include this on your policy if your vehicle is less than 10 years old. The most common deductible is either $250 or $500. Deductible options under $250 are typically not cost-effective. $1,000 deductibles are popular since the money saved often offsets out-of-pocket costs when an accident occurs. However, if you have more than one accident every 7-10 years, this concept does not work.
Comprehensive -- Also required if you lease or purchase a vehicle. Fire, theft, and vandalism are the most common claims. Deductibles usually range from $0 (full coverage) to $250. Older vehicles often have comprehensive coverage, but the collision is removed, since the value as substantially depreciated. Glass breakage is a very common claim, and many carriers offer a rider that waives the deductible. However, the subsequent cleanup of glass in your vehicle is often not properly performed by glass-replacement services.
GAP -- Also referred to as Loan/lease/payoff coverage, GAP riders reimburse you for the difference in the market value of the vehicle and the amount that you owe to the finance or leasing company. The vehicle must be totaled to collect benefits. Policies can generally be obtained from the insurance carrier, dealership where you leased the vehicle, or the leasing company. In some situations, GAP coverage is included in your monthly payment. For vehicles with sticker prices more than $35,000, we highly recommend the GAP rider. The rider is also popular with 48-month lease programs.
If you buy an additional car or truck, the coverage from your existing vehicles will automatically be transferred to the new car or truck. If your current vehicles have different coverage (for example -- one vehicle has full coverage and the other has basic liability), the highest level of benefits will be placed on the recently-purchased vehicle. Approximately 20 days is provided to notify your company of the new purchase (or trade).
NOTE: Occasionally, an exclusion will be placed on your policy, which can result in major limitations. The most common exclusions are for racing, damage resulting from intentional acts, drivers that are not permitted to drive, causing property damage to a home or property you own, and being paid for transporting other drivers. The exclusion is often temporary, and your agent can explain the duration of the exclusion.
Compare Texas Car Insurance Rates
Shown below are current estimated monthly liability rates for several counties. Prices are based on a male married driver between the ages of 25 and 64 with a clean driving record and good credit. The vehicle is driven to work daily and covered with bodily injury and property damage limits of $50,000/$100,000/$50,000 (50/100/50). Rates provided by Texas HelpInsure.
$25 -- Texas Farm Bureau Underwriters
$37 -- USAA
$39 -- Allstate Fire And Casualty
$39 -- USAA Casualty
$42 -- USAA General Indemnity
$42 -- Progressive County Mutual
$44 -- Garrison Property And Casualty
$45 -- Farmers
$31 -- Texas Farm Bureau Underwriters
$35 -- USAA
$37 -- USAA Casualty
$37 -- Allstate
$41 -- Progressive County Mutual
$42 -- Farmers
$43 -- Leader Managing General Agency
$43 -- Infinity County Mutual
$19 -- Geico
$22 -- Allstate Fire And Casualty
$26 -- National Surety
$26 -- USAA
$29 -- National General
$32 -- USAA Casualty
$32 -- Integon
$18 -- Allstate Fire And Casualty
$20 -- National Surety
$20 -- Geico
$26 -- USAA
$27 -- Economy Fire And Casualty
$28 -- USAA Casualty
$31 -- Progressive
$19 -- Geico
$25 -- Allstate Fire And Casualty
$27 -- USAA
$29 -- National Surety
$30 -- USAA Casualty
$32 -- Economy Fire And Casualty
$33 -- Trinity
$22 -- Allstate Fire And Casualty
$23 -- Geico
$26 -- National Surety
$31 -- USAA
$33 -- USAA Casualty
$41 -- National General
$41 -- Garrison
$22 -- Allstate Fire And Casualty
$26 -- Economy Preferred
$32 -- National General
$33 -- USAA
$34 -- USAA Casualty
$34 -- Progressive
$34 -- Integon
Driving In Mexico
Although your policy is likely to cover you in other states and Canada, policy benefits do not extend to Mexico, where laws are completely different. Investigations that attempt to determine which party was at-fault can take days (or weeks), and it's possible you may no be able to leave the country during that time. Although an inexpensive or free endorsement rider may be available, often, several restrictions may apply, including limiting the duration of your trip, and the number of miles from the US border that you are allowed to travel. A separate Mexican liability policy is also offered through several licensed brokers that are authorized to sell these policies.
How Long Does It Take To Get Free Quotes?
Not long! After entering your zip code, you'll immediately be presented with the companies that have the lowest rates in your immediate area. The quote engine is updated each day, and the TX State prices you view are always current. Since there are many underwriting variables, you may notice different companies shown for different areas or ages. Also, if you change vehicles, or add drivers to the policy, once again, different companies might become more competitive.
Liability insurance only coverage, will, of course, be the least expensive option. However, for newer vehicles and/or financed vehicles, you will need full coverage. Many different deductible options are available, including cost-saving $1,000 and $2,500 options. Occasionally, a $5,000 deductible is offered.
Once you pick the carrier (or a few carriers), after answering a few basic questions, you can review the offers and compare them to your current policy. Naturally, not everyone will save money, but many persons save as much as 30%-50%. Of course there is never an obligation or cost to compare prices. Depending on the carrier, you may be able to obtain coverage the same day, and print your ID cards and declarations page from home or work. If you need paperwork faxed or emailed, only a simple request is needed.
Which Companies Offer The Best Rates?
There is not one right answer to this question since there are so many different scenarios regarding driving record, zip code, county, ages of drivers, ages of vehicles, liability limits, deductible amounts etc... It is not uncommon to see one specific carrier offer extremely low rates in Dallas and Waco, but have very high prices in Austin and Tyler.
However, we listed below the 12 companies that typically offer very cheap policies in the state. However, there is still a probability that a carrier not listed may also offer very competitive premiums.
What Are The Ratings Of The Larger Companies?
Illustrated below, are the A.M. Best ratings for most of the biggest insurers in the state. A.M. Best has been evaluating the safety of companies for more than 100 years, and they are considered the most reputable and reliable resource for financial stability reporting.
Allied Property And Casualty
Liberty County Mutual
Mercury County Mutual
Texas Farm Bureau
Cheapest TX Counties
Most carriers utilize a county or zip code rating system (or both) to help determine the correct premium to charge. Typically, rural counties offer lower rates, but there are many exceptions. Listed below are the 25 Counties that usually have the lowest prices to cover your vehicles. NOTE: The list is in alphabetical order, and not by level of savings.
Texas Department Of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV)
The TxDMV offers a plethora of free services for Lone Star State residents. Whether you need to renew a registration or title, replace a lost license, or order specialty license plates, they can help. Many of the services can be accomplished online or through the mail or fax. Some of the more common services include:
Registration Of Vehicle -- Inspection must be passed, and valid sticker must be visible at all times. Duplicate registration stickers can be ordered if the original has been lost. You can't legally drive your vehicle unless you complete the registration process.
TexasSure Insurance Verification -- Automated database checks and verifies that owners have the required mandatory liability coverage. If required limits are increased, ample time and notification will be provided. Although state minimum limits keep you "legal," increasing to higher bodily injury and property damage levels should always be considered. About 30 states in the US have similar systems, and they have effectively reduced the number of uninsured drivers.
Title Check -- Before you buy a vehicle, you can have the VIN number checked to ensure it was not rebuilt, salvaged, or suffered water damage from a flood. The National Motor Vehicle Title Information System (NMVTIS) can easily save you thousands of dollars in repairs and loss of value. Additionally, many carriers perform CLUE (Comprehensive Loss Underwriting Exchange) reports to research accident involvements. Data is provided by LexisNexis.
Lemon Law -- Repeated mechanical (and other) problems may mean your car is eligible for repair, replacement, or repurchased back. The manufacturer must be given the chance to properly repair the issue within a reasonable amount of time. However, if you are not satisfied with the resolution offer, additional steps can be taken. It make take a few months, but eventually, your vehicle will be properly repaired or replaced. Usually, replacement is the most favorable option, since you receive a new vehicle and a new warranty.
Assistance With Preventing Burglary And Theft -- Many tips are provided, including parking in well-lit areas, hide valuables, do not leave vehicle running while away from vehicle, and install anti-theft devices. Contact information for the Automobile Burglary And Theft Prevention Authority (ABTPA) is also provided.
Specialty License Plate -- Incredibly, there are more than 300 options. Among the choices you may not have known existed include American Legion, Boy Scouts, Dallas Cowboys, Fight Terrorism, Houston Dynamo, Knights Of Columbus, Log Loader, Merchant Marine, NASCAR, Organ Donor, Prisoner Of War, Space Shuttle Columbia, Texas Realtors, Volunteer Firefighter, and YMCA. Sorry, but TV shows and Disney characters are not available...yet.
Change A Lien -- If you refinance or pay off your vehicle, there is specific paperwork that will document and apply the change. Without it, you may not be able to transfer the title. Once completed, you can remove collision and comprehensive coverage from your policy. However, you may want to check the value of the vehicle first, since placing "liability only" benefits will be taking a large financial risk. Many reputable online resources are available.
Special Services For Military Personnel -- Active and Retired personnel, along with their families, are eligible for a streamlined process of transferring your vehicle, inspections, and obtaining military plates. Non-residents that are serving in Texas, can register vehicles in a local county tax office. Additional help and assistance are found on the DMV website. If you need assistance with obtaining coverage while stationed on a military base, please contact us.
Off-Highway Vehicles -- Neighborhood electric vehicles (NEV) and low-speed vehicles (LSV) also must adhere to federal and state laws. Although they can only operate at a maximum of 35 mph, they still must be equipped with seat belts, parking brake, turn signals, an ID number, windshield, and rear-view mirrors. They should never be driven on interstate highways or high-traffic roadways.
Services For Commercial And Industrial Fleets -- Many different programs can be custom-designed to match the number of trucks that need covered. Help with registration and interstate travel is available.
What Is The Texas Automobile Insurance Plan Association (TAIPA)?
TAIPA is governed by the TX Department of insurance and was created to help consumers that can not find a company that will cover them. To qualify for a policy through TAIPA, you must be refused by at least two separate carriers within the last 60 days, possess a valid driver's license, and either live in Texas or own a vehicle that is registered in the state. NOTE: An international driver's license is also considered valid.
The minimum state required liability limits of $30,000 per person, $60,000 per accident, and $25,000 of property damage are standard benefits. PIP of $2,500 and uninsured motorists protection of $30,000/$60,000/$25,000 is also included. You can not request coverage lower than the state minimum limits.
When submitted electronically, the policy can be effective the next day with a payment. An annual billing is available, although you can also divide premium into eight installments with a 20% down-payment. A cashier's check, money order, finance company check, and bank check are acceptable.
If you have an at-fault accident, the rate will increase by 20%. Typically, incidences that are not your fault, do not impact the premium. Moving violations are also surcharged although the collision and comprehensive portions of the policy are not impacted. Raising your collision and/or comprehensive deductibles on vehicles less than three years old, can substantially reduce your premium.
I Just Moved Here. What Do I Need To Do?
With so many people moving to the Lone Star State, this is a very common question. Typically, you have 30 days to register your car or truck. An inspection must be completed by a certified station. You will have to pay a small fee at that time. You may also have to prove that you meet the TX minimum liability requirements that were previously discussed. A copy of your declarations page will suffice.
License plates and a current registration will also be needed to legally operate the automobile. Form 130-U may be required along with proof of ownership, insurance coverage, and registration. The fee to register is about $55, and you may also be required to pay your inspection and state sales tax fees. These are generally ongoing annual fees.
Finally, you are given three months to obtain a Texas driver's license (if you don't already have one). The process is quick and easy. However, if you have not completed the steps within 90 days, you are not authorized to drive a vehicle in the state. If you are stopped by a law enforcement officer without a valid license, a heavy fine and/or suspension will result, and your auto insurance rate will likely increase. This surcharge will stay on your policy for approximately three years.
Special Available Discounts
Each company offers specific discounts for their property and casualty products. Listed below are several common discounts, and the carriers that include these rate reductions when issuing a policy.
Antilock Brakes -- 21st Century, Allstate, Chartis Property Casualty, Depositors, Fireman's Fund, Geico, Liberty County Mutual, Metropolitan Lloyds, National Surety, Nationwide, Safe Auto, Texas Farm Bureau, and Unitrin.
Daytime Lights -- Allstate, Liberty County Mutual, Metropolitan Lloyds, and USAA.
Low Mileage -- 21st Century, AAA, Allstate, Chartis Property Casualty, Consumers County Mutual, Fireman's Fund, Liberty County Mutual, Metropolitan Lloyds, National General Assurance, National General, National Surety, Progressive County Mutual, Safeco, and USAA.
House Bill 3420
House Bill 3420 is relatively new legislation that requires personal automobile policies to provide primary liability benefits for temporary vehicles. "temporary" vehicles include cars and trucks that are given or loaned by an automobile repair shop or facility while the customer's own vehicle is being repaired, serviced, or receiving an estimate for work. The vehicle must be in possession of the insured or a member of the residence, and not owned by the insured.
The law applies to private passenger automobiles, a utility vehicle or van that weighs less than 14,000 pounds, and a vehicle utilized for ranching or farming. Bodily injury, property damage, and damage to the temporary vehicle are required.
Who has the biggest Texas car insurance market share? The most recent statistics are available and we listed below the 12 carriers with the most written premiums:
Colonial County Mutual
Liberty County Mutual
Old American County
Texas Farm Bureau
The Top-12 carriers with the biggest homeowner's insurance market share are also listed below:
Texas Farm Bureau
Rideshare drivers in Texas continue to have more protection. Legislation requires the operator or the ridesharing company to maintain specific minimum liability coverage. Also, the specific company that is hiring the drivers must also assume liability for lapsed or terminated policies, and coverage that was not sufficient to pay a claim. This helps protect drivers and passengers, by ensuring adequate liability protection will be available. Lyft vehicles are easily recognized by their hot pink and white colors. "Fasten," another ridesharing app, no longer offers services in Texas, since the company ceased operations after being acquired by Vezet.
Although Lyft and Uber meet the new legislative guidelines, several other companies will be forced to provide higher levels of liability protection. Since collision (physical damage) is generally not covered by private policies, large out-of-pocket expenses could result from serious accidents. However, selected companies offer "Gap" benefits that will help pay for those losses.